Kerala State Lotteries Department

The Kerala State Lotteries Department was started in 1967, the first lottery department setup under a state Government in India. Envisaging revenue from sale of lotteries as a major source of non-tax revenue for the state, the idea of setting up a separate department for the conduct of lotteries was initiated by late P. K. Kunju Sahib, the Honb’le Finance Minister of the state in 1967. Within no time, the department has grown throughout the length and breadth of Kerala by contributing to the needful.

The founder Director of the department was Shri. P. K. Seydu Mohammed. The department which came into existence on September 1, 1967, released its first lottery ticket on November 1, the same year. The ticket valued at Re. 1 carried first prize of Rs. 50,000.

Organization Set Up

The Lottery Department is headed by the Director of State Lotteries and assisted by an Additional Director and a Joint Director. The Directorate has 3 Deputy Directors and four District lottery officers (HQ) in Administrative position. Among others, the Directorate also comprises of a Finance officer, Publicity Officer, Accounts Officer (IA) and two Senior Auditors. The Finance Officer is appointed on deputation from the Government Secretariat and the Senior Auditors are appointed on deputation from the Accountant General’s Office. The Publicity Officer is appointed on deputation from the Public Relations Department, Government Secretariat.

  • Two Deputy Directors Supervise the Sales and Prize sections while Another Deputy Director controls the printing related matters.
  • Finance Officer see to the matter of Budget, and Internal Audit Wing in the Directorate
  • And Publicity Section is functioning under the supervision of the Publicity Officer.

The Directorate controls the printing and distribution of tickets of all lotteries. At present tickets including Bumper are printed at the Govt Press Mannanthala, Kerala Books and Publications Society Kakkanad, Kochi and C-apt (Kerala State Centre for Advanced Printing and Training). Sale of lottery tickets, Agency registration, renewal, sanctioning of prize money and disbursement of prizes up to Rs.1 Lakh are carried out by the District Lottery offices. General administration, distribution of major prizes above Rs. 1 lakh and granting of agencies outside Kerala, overall control, conduct of draws etc., are the main functions of the Lotteries Directorate at Thiruvananthapuram. The regional Deputy Directorate performs distribution of tickets and conduct of lottery draws. The Department is under the administrative control of the Department of Taxes, Kerala. There are 465 employees working under this department.

Contacts Details

Directorate of State Lotteries
Office Address:
Vikas Bhavan P.O
Kerala – 695033

Biju Prabhakar IAS
Ph:- 0471-2305193, 0471-2305230, 0471-2301741

You May Like.

Add Kerala State Lotteries Department Feedback, Comments, Reviews