Taxes Department

Kerala Taxes Department

The history of Sales tax in India begins from 1938.The Income Tax Department in Kerala has territorial jurisdiction over entire State of Kerala, Union territory of Lakshadeep and Mahe (Part of Pondicherry). The Department of Commercial Taxes is the major source of revenue of the Government of Kerala, accounting for 3/4th of its revenues. The Department caters to 1,83,000 traders through 431 offices, including Check Posts, across the state. The critical functions of the Department such as Filing of returns, Payment of Tax, Issue of Statutory Forms, Declaration of Consignments etc. are now fully automated.Major sources of Direct taxes in Kerala are from Oil Industry, Ship Building Industry,Tourism ,Banking and Finance ,Spices,Coir and rubber products,Jewellery ,Real Estate and builders.The Kerala Region has two Chief Commissioners of Income Tax Viz, Chief Commissioner of Income Tax Kochi and Chief Commissioner of Income Tax, Thiruvananthapuram.The Chief Commissioner of Income Tax, Kochi is the cadre controlling authority of Kerala Region. Director General of Income Tax(Inv.) with headquarter at Kochi is in charge of Investigation related activities of the Department in Kerala. The Chief Commissioners of Income Tax & DGIT are supported by 20 Commissioners of Income Tax/Director of Income Tax , 31 Addl. Commissioner of Income Tax/Joint Commissioner of Income Tax and 57 DCIT/ACITs 1 Deputy Director(systems) and 2 Asst.Director(systems) and 116 ITO. All these officers are involved not only with budget collection, but also other aspects of operations management.

Taxes Department Organization:

The CBDT is headed by Chairman and also comprises of six members, all of whom are ex-officio Special Secretary to Government of India. The Chairman and Members of CBDT are selected from Indian Revenue Service (IRS), a premier civil service of India, whose members constitute the top management of Income Tax Department.The Kerala State Financial Enterprises Limited, popularly known as KSFE. It is Miscellaneous Non-Banking Company and fully owned by he Government of Kerala.It is one of the most profit-making public sector undertaking of the State.Kerala Financial Corporation (KFC) incorporated under the State Financial Corporations Act of 1951, is a trend setter and path breaker in the field of long term finance, playing a major role in the development and industrialization of Kerala.Consequent to the reorganization of states on linguistic basis in November 1956, Kerala State was formed and the Travancore Cochin Financial Corporation was renamed as Kerala Financial Corporation.The Kerala State Beverages Corporation Limited was established on 23rd February, 1984. Through this Corporation Government provides genuine liquor at reasonable prices to consumers and thus check the distribution of spurious liquor through unauthorized shops.The Head Office of the Corporation is situated in Sasthakripa Office Complex, Sasthamangalam, Thiruvananthapuram. There are 338 FL1 shops and 21 Warehouses in different Districts under the Corporation.

Notable Function of Taxes Department

  • Remission and Write off of excise revenue.
  • Construction of building for Excise Department, fixation of rent for building hired by Department.
  • Abkari dues. including current year’s due.
  • All papers relating to Kerala State Beverages Corporation.
  • Kerala General Sales Tax Act and Rules, 1963-91.
  • Budget and Administration Report of the Excise Department.
  • Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances Act and Connected papers.
  • Kerala Tax on Luxuries in Hotels and Lodging Houses Act.
  • Write off of irrecoverable arrears of tax and connected papers.
  • Draft paras and PAC report in respect of Registered Documents.
  • Shifting of Sub Registry Offices and matters relating to vendor license
  • Papers relating Enforcement of Sales Tax Act and rules, shop inspection, Erasion of Tax and Check Posts.
  • Non Banking Finance Companies State level Bankers committee meeting of state level co-ordination committee meeting.
  • All Gazetted and Non-Gazetted Establishment of Commercial Taxes Department and Appellate Tribunals.
  • Request for telephones in the Commercial Taxes Department and the Appellate Tribunals.\
  • All Establishment papers of Registration Department including TA arrear claim and Computerization of Registration Department.

Department Section:

S.NO Department Section Phone No
1 Taxes (A) Department 0471-2518495
2 Taxes (B) Department 0471-2518904
3 Taxes (C) Department 0471-2518887
4 Taxes (D) Department 0471-2518205
5 Taxes (E) Department 0471- 251 8302
6 Taxes (F) Department 0471-251 8699
7 Taxes (G) Department 0471-251 8198
8 Taxes (H) Department 0471-251 8589
9 Taxes (PS) Department 0471-251 8972

Kerala Taxes Department Important Contact Details:


Minister for Finance, Law and Housing
Room No: 216
3rd Floor
North Sandwich Block
Phone : 0471-2327876 , 2327976
Mob: 9496155500
Fax : 0471-2327016

Taxes Department

Above Old Assembly Hall

Shri. AjithKumar A Secretary


Sri. Rabindrakumar Agarwal Commissioner

Office of the Commissioner of Commercial Taxes
Public Office
Vikas Bhavan P. O.
Telephone: 0471 – 2321252
Mobile: 9447782000

Sri. Saurabh Jain Joint Commissioner- Commercial Taxes

Office of the Commissioner of Commercial Taxes
Public Office
Vikas Bhavan P. O.
Telephone : 0471 -2322843
Fax: 0471- 2335427
Mob: 9447781000

Related Website of Taxes Department

Name of Website Link
Kerala Commercial Taxes
National Portal of India

You May Like.

Add Taxes Department Feedback, Comments, Reviews