Tourism Department

Kerala Tourism Department

The present Department of Tourism had its beginning in the State Guest Department of the erstwhile Travancore State and Hospitality Organization of the Cochin State. In Travancore, the State Guest Department had been functioning since 1930. Till the re-organization of States in 1948, the State Guest Department of Travancore State and Hospitality Department of Cochin State continued as such. Later, after the formation of Kerala State in 1956, these two separate organizations were combined as Tourist Department in 1958.This Department continues to be the Government agency responsible for looking after the comforts of Guests of the Government. It also functions as the Estate Office so far as accommodation of VIPs like Ministers are concerned. Their conveyance needs are also managed by the Tourist Department. Although the Department continues to handle the hospitality function of the State,more emphasis is now given to Promotion, Planning and Development of Tourism. In 1981 it was again re-named as Department of Tourism.The Department of Tourism has three major function such as (i)Hospitality wing of the State Government (ii) Estate Office duty and(iii) Tourism Development. The activities under Tourism Development head can be broadly classified into three categories such as: (a). Marketing & Promotion, (b). Planning & Development. and (c). Support to other agencies.

Tourism Department Organization:

The Department is headed by the Director (IAS cadre) and supported by two Additional Directors – one Additional Director (General- IAS cadre) and the other Additional Director (Hospitality – Non – IAS cadre). The Additional Director (General) is assisting the Director in all matters of the Department whereas the Additional Director (Hospitality) looks after the Hospitality wing only.There are three Joint Directors in the Department one at the Directorate and the other two at the Regional Offices, Ernakulam and Kozhikode. The Joint Director at the Directorate is looking after the Estate Office duty.An Administrative officer and Finance Officer from Government Secretariatare looking after all administrative matters and financial matters respectively. Planning Section is headed by Planning Officer on deputation basis. Maintenance of vehicles and providing vehicles to State Ministers and State Guests are being monitored by an Executive Engineer from PWD (Mechanical) on deputation basis. There are 3 Deputy Directors at Directorate.The publicity wing is headed by a Deputy Director and assisted by a Tourist Information Officer. Accounts department is managed by a Deputy Director functioning as Drawing and Disbursing Officer.The Department has Offices in all the districts of which six are headed by Deputy Directors and eight by Tourist Information Officers.There are fifteen Information Offices within the State and four outside the State. All these offices are concentrating very effectively in marketing Kerala Tourism.

Notable Function of Tourism Department

1) Hospitality Wing :

  • The Department provides accommodation and transport to the State Guests including VVIPs and VIPs. Maintains 24 Guest Houses at Kovalam,Thiruvananthapuram,Ponmudi, Attingal, Varkala, Kollam, Kottayam, Ernakulam, Aluva, Devikulam, Munnar, Peermade, Cheruthuruthy,Idukki,Thrissur, Guruvayoor, Malampuzha, Malappuram, Kozhikode, Sulthan Battery, Kannoor, Kasargod,Yathri Nivas at Thiruvananthapuram and Ernakulam and Kerala House at Kanyakumari and New Delhi.
  • All reservations to these establishments except Yatri Nivas,Thiruvananthapuram and Kochi are made through GAD (Political) Govt.Secretariat, Thiruvananthapuram.
  • The Department of Tourism has a fleet of cars of various models and brands to provide transport to the guests as well as the Ministers,Speaker, Leader of Opposition, etc.

2) Estate Office Duty :

  • It is the responsibility of the Department of Tourism to provide furnished Residential Bunglows to the Ministers, Leader of Opposition, Chief Whip, Speaker etc.
  • The transport facility is also provided to the above by the Department of Tourism.

3) Tourism Development :

  • A shift in the emphasis from Hospitality Management to Tourism Planning, Development & Marketing was the major change the Department witnessed in the 1980s.
  • The Budget pattern underwent a sea change by the 1990s to provide more for Tourism Development.
  • Effective marketing and promotional measures are essential to attract tourists and to highlight Kerala as a distinct destination.
  • Private sector investment needs encouragement from the Government.
  • Department is providing assistance to District Tourism Promotion Councils (DTPCs) in all the districts.
  • New destinations are being identified and various schemes are being implemented to develop them as important tourist spots in the State.

Department Section:

S.NO Department Section Phone No
1 Tourism (A) Department 0471-2518490
2 Tourism (B) Department 0471-2518803
3 Tourism (C) Department 0471- 2517109

Kerala Tourism Department Important Contact Details:

Shri. A. P. Anilkumar

Minister for Welfare of Scheduled Castes
& Backward Classes and Tourism
Room No. 397
1st Floor
Main Block
Phone : 0471 – 2333833,2331685
Mob : 9447115677
Fax : 0471-2335266

Tourism Department

Room No. 157
Near North Committee Room
North Block

Shri. Suman Billa Secretary

Room No. 364
First Floor
South Block
Tel : 0471- 2325992, 2518035

Mr. M. S. Venugopal Deputy Director

Department of Tourism
Government of Kerala
Park View
Kerala – 695 033, India
Tel : + 91 471 2560436

Department of Tourism, Government of Kerala

Park View, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, India – 695 033
Tourist Information toll free No:1-800-425-4747
Phone: +91 471 2321132
Fax: +91 471 2322279
Email :,
Official /

Related Website of Tourism Department

Name of Website Link
Kerala Tourism website
Kerala Transport Development Finance corporation

You May Like.

Add Tourism Department Feedback, Comments, Reviews