Kerala State Water Transport Department

Kerala State Water Transport Department is a government agency to regulate and maintain the inland navigation of Kerala state of India. It caters traffic needs of the inhabitants of the waterlogged areas of the Districts of Alappuzha, Kottayam, Kollam, Ernakulam, Kannur and Kasargode.44 rivers in Kerala, 41 of the westward flowing rivers combine with backwaters and man made canals to form an integral part of inland navigation system.The Department transports about 150 lakhs of passengers per annum using Wooden/Steel and fiberglass passenger boats.

The State Water Transport Department was formed in the year 1968, with its Head Quarters (Directorate) in the District of Alappuzha.Including navigable rivers, backwaters, and man made cross canals there are 1895 km of waterways in Kerala State.KSWTD uses fiberglass/steel passenger boats.

  • Boat Capacity – 50 to 150 passengers (wooden boats)
  • Speed of operation – 10 to 15 km per hour
  • Boat Size– Length: 20 to 35 mtrs, Width: 3 to 4.5 m, Depth: 2 m
  • Empty Weight – 5 to 15 tonns
  • Crew per boat – 5 max.

KSWTD has three wings they are Management wing,operation wing and Repairs & Maintenance wing. The managemnet wing is responsible for the ministerial works of the department including Establishment matters,Pay bills Cash & accounts,Purchase,Disciplinary proceedings internal Audit etc. The operation wing ,headed by the Traffic Superintendent is for conducting boat service operation.The Repairs and maintenance wing, under the control of the Mechanical Engineer is for carrying out of the repair works of boats,engins etc.

Stations of Water Transport Department

The Controlling Officers of these Stations are Station Masters. The service operation of boats are under the immediate control of the Station Masters of these stations.

  • Alappuzha
  • Kottayam
  • Kollam
  • Edathua
  • Pulinkunnu
  • Nedumudy
  • Muhamma
  • Vaikom
  • Panavally
  • Thrikkarippur
  • Changanassery
  • Kavalam
  • Ernakulam

Contact Details of KSWTD

Shri.Aryadan Mohammed
Minister for Power and Transport
Room No: 208,
2nd Floor
North Sandwich Block
Phone : 0471-2327561,2321228
Mob : 9447011324
Fax : 0471-2327759

Shri.Shaji .V.Nair
Ph: 0477-2253770
Fax : 2253770
Res: 0477- 2126354
Mob: 9400050320

You May Like.

Add Kerala State Water Transport Department Feedback, Comments, Reviews